Being Tolerant

What does it mean to be tolerant?  “Tolerance or toleration is a fair, objective, and permissive attitude toward those whose opinions, practices, race, religion, nationality, etc., differ from one’s own; freedom from bigotry”.(Wikipedia)  The phrase “being tolerant” is commonly used today with the acceptance of anything, even when it includes immoral and evil things.  Being a Catholic priest faithful to the Teachings of Jesus Christ that have been handed down to us through the Church, I’m considered “intolerant” when I stand up for these Teachings, especially when it comes to the protection of innocent life in the womb or preserving the sacredness of Marriage between one man and one woman.  Yet the same people who accuse the Catholic Church for being intolerant, usually are the most intolerant themselves.  I just read the following article from “lifenews.com”: Abortion Activists Rip Out Pews, Spray paint Profane Graffiti in Catholic Church.  These actions in Chile, Spain, and Belgium were done because these proponents of death (abortion) didn’t like the views of those who believe that every human life is sacred and deserves protection, from the moment of conception to natural death.  Let us pray for those who are confused, thus supporting immorality and evil.  And let us all be truly tolerant of others, yet always remaining firm in the Truths that has been given to us by Jesus Christ.

Sonogram

Sonogram (Photo credit: rchristie / Ryan)

6 thoughts on “Being Tolerant

  1. I came upon a story from your parish today which led me to you here. May God bless you in your new assignment, and may you continue to preach the Truth with compassion and sincerity in spite of the increasing pressure and controversy. No one likes ‘rules’ but without them we would all perish. A father does not give in to spoiled children. Had there been more priests like you over the past 40 years we wouldn’t be in the mess we are today. Thank you for answering His call to the priesthood. I will pray for peace of mind for you as this continues to unfold.

  2. Hello Father, I came across an article on Life Site News about Mr. Lew Pryeor and Pierre Laveillee. I also followed the web to here. I am so proud of you and I will be offering prayers for you, our family prays St. Michael Chaplets, Rosaries and Divine Mercy Chapelets often. We will be praying for you and offering Holy Mass for you and all priests, especially those that stand up for Gods Church, and will be persecuted in this age. I can’t put into words what I am feeling, but know that we are praying for you and we are behind you 100% I wish we could be in your parish! We are in Texas! God Bless You!!!

  3. Dear Father,

    May God, bless you abundantly in time and eternity; and may He continue to strengthen, protect and illuminate you, Father.

    Gloria tibi Domine!

    • Dear Father, I just read an article about you on ThePulp.It Web Site and the situation where you denied Holy Communion to a homosexual couple. You did the right thing, of course. There are many, many Catholics out here who support your decision and pray for you to continue your courageous stand on issues the Catholic Church teaches. God bless you. I will be praying for you daily.

  4. Dear Fr. Brian,

    You and I were undergrads together in Steubenville where I’m now a professor of theology. I just want you to know how encouraged and consoled I am to see that you’re still whole-heartedly devoted to Christ and his Church! I praise God for the grace and courage he’s given you. Please know that these sentiments are shared by so many others. God bless you! Please send me an email some day and we can catch up.

    Yours in Christ,
    Mike Sirilla

Leave a Reply

