New Assignment

English: Holy Heart

English: Holy Heart (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I arrived at my new parish of Sacred Heart in Woonsocket, RI, on Sunday, June 30th, 2013.  As a “Pastor” for the first time, I felt mixed emotions between excitement and fear.  I was excited to be a Pastor, and extremely grateful to Bishop Tobin for making this possible.  Yet at the same time, I had a lot of fear of the new responsibility and task that lay ahead – administrative details including financial matters, making decisions for the Parish, as well as dealing with my own personal weaknesses and failings, trying above all with the help of God’s grace to be a holy and faithful priest.  Well, it has been almost two weeks since I started, all I can say is thank you Lord!!!  The people here at Sacred Heart are simply wonderful.  Everyone has been so welcoming and nice.  As the days go on, I have more excitement and less fear.  Whether it be offering the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass for the people, or hearing Confessions, or having a meeting with a parishioner or group of parishioners, or simply just walking/running through my new neighborhood with my new “assistant” Trooper (4 year old lab/retriever mix), everyday has truly been a blessing from God.  As I arrived here almost two weeks ago, one of the first things I did was to go into the beautiful Church and reconsecrate myself to Jesus through our Blessed Mother’s intercession.  With them in my corner and even leading the way, how can I go wrong!

One thought on “New Assignment

Leave a Reply

